Hopkin Looking To Curl One…

A regular blog dedicated to Crystal Palace Football Club through the eyes of a fanatical supporter, contemplating everything from results to the colour of Stuart O'Keefe's boot laces…

Zaha Wants To Reignite United Buzz Whilst Back At Palace

Having made his long-awaited return to Selhurst Park on Saturday against Burnley, Wilfried Zaha has spoken of his desperation to get his career back on track after a year in the cold at Old Trafford.

With many Palace fans being hopeful that Zaha is now back in SE25 for good, the winger’s words will come as somewhat of a disappointment, but after just two weeks back “home”, it’s understandable that on a personal level, Wilf would still hold ambitions of succeeding in Manchester.

He said:

“I signed for a couple of years at United so the goal is to do my best here for the season and go back and make sure I get back into the team and the England set-up.

“It is just great to be playing again. There is nothing like being out on the pitch and the crowd singing your name.

“It was a bit ­frustrating. What am I doing if I am not playing?

“I know how everything works here and the gaffer just wants to give me game-time and wants me to improve so I am just glad I am back.”

“Sir Alex Ferguson was the person who bought me. He left and people have different points of views on players.

“I thought about leaving a while. Then I thought: ‘Let’s stay and prove how I can play to the new manager’. He felt it was best for me to go on loan and it was best for me to come home.”

After Louis Van Gaal embarked on an almost unprecedented spending spree over the summer, with the likes of Falcao, Di Maria and Blind having arrived at United, there are obvious questions from a neutral perspective, over whether Wilf will ever have what it takes to better their output in the eyes of the masses, not that he will necessarily feel the same way.

Given United’s obvious comfort over a move which saw Zaha return to Palace, alongside the fact that their new recruits now begin to be finding their feet in the Premier League, it seems unlikely that he will be viewed as a vital member of United’s squad at any point, and with a fee having already been supposedly on a permanent basis this summer, it feels as though these comments have a great deal of wishful thinking attached to them on Zaha’s part.

Between now and May, all that matters is what he does in a Palace shirt, everything else remains the stuff of pure conjecture.

For rolling news and comment on everything happening at Crystal Palace FC, follow Hopkin Looking To Curl One… on twitter by clicking here.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Zaha Wants To Reignite United Buzz Whilst Back At Palace

  1. promo_man on said:

    i think its more directed to Van Gaal – showing him that he has the maturity & right attitude, and wants to earn his place at United. being realistic, what he is doing is earning his permanent transfer back – lets face it, he’s not going to dislodge DiMaria is he?
    Wilf is exactly where he needs to be right now, lets hope we can coax out the 2013 version of him…..

Leave a comment